ECI Lifts MCC From Odisha Districts


New Delhi: In an attempt to facilitate speedy relief and rescue operation in view of cyclone FANI, The Election Commission of India has lifted Model Code Of Conduct from eleven districts of Odisha districts.

This will expedite the precautionary measures afoot in Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Bhadrak, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Ganjam, Khordha, Cuttack and Jajpur, Rakesh Kumar said in the order issued on Tuesday.

The move came at the end of the day when Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had made a request to the Election Commission (EC) in person.

Meeting Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, he had suggested postponing the polls to a later date so that communities could “work together in harmony and administration focus on saving precious lives and valuable property”.