EC Seeks Report On Dilip Ghosh Convoy Attack


Kolkata: The election Commission on Tuesday sought a report from East Modnapore District Magistrate on the convoy attack of State BJP president Dilip Ghosh.

In a complaint to West Bengal Chief Electoral Officer Ariz Aftab, Special Observer Ajay V. Nayak, Special Police Observer Vivek Dube, state BJP Vice President Jayprakash Majumdar and members of the coordination cell named Trinamool Congress MLA Ranajit Mondal and his supporters for Tuesday’s “barbaric and murderous attack”.

According to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders, the convoy was attacked soon after it crossed the Tekhali bridge and reached Tentultala in Khejuri in Purba Medinipur district. Prior to that, the convoy was attacked during the road show in Kunjapur where the Trinamool supporters pelted stones and brandished firearms.

“Scores of BJP supporters were beaten up mercilessly including BJP candidate Debashish Samanta,” the delegation said.

Majumdar also alleged that the Trinamool activists had surrounded the police station to prevent them from filing complaints. The incidents were pre-planned and in collusion with the police, the delegation said.