EC Reshuffles IAS Officers In West Bengal Again


Kolkata: South 24 Parganas District Magistrate and North 24 Parganas Superintendent of Police has been removed, from their posts by the Election Commission on Friday.

A strict move, from the Election Commission,before the fourth phase of the Bengal Assembly polls. Speculations were high about their removal as they failed to perform well in the phase 3 Bengal polls. DM P.B. Salim and Police Super Tanmay Roy Choudhury have been removed from their respective posts on grounds of being partial. The Election Commission had asked for the list of names of officials from Nabanna.

Abanindra Kumar Singh will take over the DM’s post. He is Purulia’s former DM and is now in the education department of the government. The superintendent of police’s post will be taken over by IPS officer Annappa. He is in the Human Rights Commission.

 The Election Commission thus fulfils its motive of taking any and every necessary step for conducting a free and fair election for the remaining 3 phases of the Bengal polls.