EC Removes 15 IAS Officers In Poll Bound Bengal


Kolkata: The Election Commission stood firm on its stance of taking every possible measure to ensure free and fair poll in the upcoming phase 4 Bengal assembly elections. The EC removed 15 IAS officers from their respective posts on Friday.

The removed officers are OC from Barrackpore, Ashoknagar, Bhadreshwar, Dinhata, Raidighi, Tufanganj, Jagachar. The IC officers have been removed from Tollygunge, Bonga, Naihati, Harowa, Dum Dum and New Town. Apart from these 15 IAS officers, DM P. B. Salim of South 24 Parganas and Superintendent of Police Tanmoy Roy Choudhuryof North 24 Parganas were removed on Friday. They both have been removed on grounds of being partial. The opposition had lodged complaint against both of them in the Commission.

Full Bench Election Commission had held a video conference with the state CEO on Friday. The opposition’s complaints were taken into consideration. CEO Nasim Zaidi was also present. He had earlier issued a statement that they are adamant in ensuring a free and fair poll in Bengal. As a result, the removal of the IAS officers was put into immediate action.

The opposition had accused the two IAS officers of being partial. They have been accused of not taking any action to any complaint made by the oppositions. SP Tanmoy Roy Choudhury was accused of taking a delayed action when a CPM activist was killed in Haroa.

Phase 4 elections are scheduled on April 25. IPS Officer has been Annappa appointed as the SP of North 24 Parganas and Abanindra Kumar Singh has been appointed as the DM of South 24 Parganas.

The opposition leaves no opportunity to criticize. They have said that it would have been much better if the decision was taken much earlier.