East Bengal 2-2 Mohun Bagan, Kolkata Derby


Siliguri: East Bengal clinched their eighth successive title, and a record 39 times overall, in the Calcutta Football League after holding arch-rivals Mohun Bagan 2-2 in the season’s first derby here.

Maintaining their supremacy in the Premier Division A tournament, East Bengal bounced back twice with a calculative strike from man-of-the-match Laldanmawia Ralte (43rd) off a freekick and Al Amna’s 66th minute effort.

Eyeing their first title since 2009, the 29-time champions Mohun Bagan dominated the proceedings right from the start with 20-year-old Azharuddin Mallick’s spirited second minute strike and were 2-1 up in the 49th minute following a goal from Ansumana Kromah.

Chaos Before Derby Match

Two minutes later, Kamo Stephane Bayi wasted a sitter in what could have been a decisive 3-1 lead, virtually shattering their hopes at the packed Kanchenjunga Stadium.

Both teams finished on 23 points but East Bengal emerged winners on a better goal difference of (+21) against Mohun Bagan’s +15.

It was also a brilliant start by Khalid Jamil to win his maiden title for the red-and-gold brigade after scripting a ‘Cindrella moment’ in Indian football by guiding Aizawl FC to I-League Trophy last season.

Mohun Bagan Boycotts Derby, Calls IFA ‘Traitor’

East Bengal, thus, remained unbeaten in their last 37 CFL matches with their last defeat coming way back in 2014 against Mohammedan Sporting.

This year they have won seven out of eight matches so far and dropped points against Mohammedan in their seventh round clash.