Dilsukhnagar Blasts: Yasin Bhatkal, Four Others Convicted


Hyderabad: In the first conviction of Indian Mujahideen cadre, a special court for cases probed by National Investigation Agency (NIA) in Hyderabad on Tuesday convicted Yasin Bhatkal and four others in connection with the February 2013 Dilsukhnagar twin blasts case.

The court had framed charges against Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal, Pakistani national Zia-ur-Rahman alias Waqas, Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, Tahaseen Akhtar alias Monu and Aijaz Sheikh, who are at present lodged in the Cherlapally Prison.

Indian Mujahideen founder Riyaz Bhatkal, the prime accused in the case, is absconding. The case was split up against him. Eighteen people were killed and 131 injured in two deadly explosions near Konark and Venkatadiri theatres in Dilsukhnagar, a crowded shopping area in the city, on February 21, 2013. The accused were tried under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967, and other relevant acts including IPC.