Dilsukhnagar Blast: Yasin Bhatkal, 4 Others Sentenced To Death


Hyderabad: A special NIA court on Monday sentenced Yasin Bhatkal and four others to death in Hyderabad blast case.

This is the first time that top leaders of the Indian Mujahideen, including Yasin Bhatkal, have been found guilty of a terror attack since the group was banned as a terror group in 2010.

Eighteen people were killed in the twin blast at Dilsukhnagar in Hyderabad on February 21, 2013. Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal, Zia-ur-Rehman alias Waqas, Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, Tahaseen Akhtar and Aijaz Sheikh, and IM founder Riyaz Bhatkal, the prime accused in the case, who is absconding, were convicted by the NIA court in Cherlapally Central Prison on December 13.