Dilip Ghosh Vs Manas Bhuniya: High Profile Battle In Midnapore


Midnapore: Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the star constituencies which is going to polls on 12th May. BJP state president Dilip Ghosh is squaring against veteran TMC leader and Rajya Sabha MP Manas Bhuniya. Long been a Left bastion, Bengali filmstar Sandhya Roy broke the 34-year-long streak in 2014 when she defeated CPI’s Prabodh Panda by 1.86 lakh votes.

This time though, TMC has dropped veteran actress and given ticket to Manas Bhuniya who fought unsuccessfully for Congress in 2014 from Ghatal. Dilip Ghosh who is an MLA from Kharagpur Sadar is now trying to take the big leap to Delhi politics. Ghosh to his credit with his rustic speak and strong focus on building the base has enthused the BJP cadres in West Bengal. The BJP top brass has canvassed for Ghosh and PM Modi has been locked in a bitter war of words with Mamata Banerjee.

CPI has Biplab Bhatt who isn’t gaining much of a traction. The assembly segments under Medinipur are Egra,Dantan, Keshiary, Kharagpur Sadar,Narayangarh, Kharagpur and Medinipur. In the West Bengal poll battle, BJP is extremely hopeful of winning Medinipur and predict such a victory will be a huge morale booster in the run-up to 2021 assembly election.