Despite Vyapam Fiasco, BJP Clean Sweeps MP Polls


Bhopal: Sweeping clean arch rival Congress BJP won 8 of the 10 civic bodies of the state where polls were held on August 12, despite a Vyapam casting a gloom on the party. The opposition so far hoping to turn the Vyapam tide against the saffron party has failed miserably.

As per the latest updates, BJP has won 7 including Ujjain Municipal Corporation and is leading on Morena Municipal Corporation. On the remaining two seats Congress has won the Sarangpur Nagar Parishad, seat in Rajgarh district and an independent candidate has won from Dhuwara Nagar Parishad of Chhatarpur district.

On August 12, civic polls were held in Ujjain Municipal Corporation, Morena Municipal Corporation, Nagar Palika Parishad Vidisha, Sarangpur Nagar Palika Parishad in Rajgarh, Dhuwara Nagar Palika Parishad in Chhatarpur, Kotar Nagar Parishad in Satna, Chakghat Nagar Parishad in Rewa, Bhainsdehi Nagar Parishad in Betul and Suwashra Nagar Parishad in Mandsaur, and Harda Nagar Palika Parishad. Of these in Harda and Bhaisdehi of Betul, it were bypolls held only for the post of chairman.

Of these, BJP's Meena Jonwal has won the Ujjain Mayor seat, BJP's Ashok Argal is leading on Morena Mayor seat, BJP's Sadhna Surendra Jain has won the Harda Nagar Palika seat, BJP's Mukesh Tandon has won the Vidisha Nagar Palika Parishad, BJP's Shanti Devi Sharma has won the Kotar Nagar Parishad seat in Satna, BJP's Meenakshi Alakhnarayan Kesharwani has won the Chakghat Nagar Parishad seat in Rewa district, BJP's Anil Singh Thakur won the Bhainsdehi Nagar Parishad seat in Betul and BJP's Maganlal won the Suwasra Nagar Parishad seat in Mandsaur district.

Meanwhile, Congress's Rupal Patel won the Sarangpur Nagar Parishad seat in Rajgarh district and an independent candidate Arun Kumari won the Dhuwara Nagar Parishad seat in Chhatarpur district.