Delhi Chief Secretary Assault Case: Kejriwal, Sisodia Charged


New Delhi: The Delhi Police on Monday filed a charge-sheet in the case relating to
the assault on Delhi Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash. The chargesheet names Delhi
Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy CM Manish Sisodia among 11 other MLAs of
the Aam Aadmi Party.

Delhi’s Patiala House Court will consider the matter on August 25.

- Advertisement -

Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and nine of the MLAs have been booked for criminal
conspiracy, an offence that carries a maximum sentence of three years and minimum
of one year.

Two other MLAs, Prakash Jarwar and Amantullah Khan, have been accused of attacking
and intimidating a public servant.

The Delhi Police had on May 18 questioned Kejriwal for over three hours in
connection with the alleged assault on Prakash.

Police have already questioned 11 AAP MLAs present at the chief minister’s
residence for the meeting. Two of the party MLAs — Amantullah Khan and Prakash
Jarwal –were arrested in the case.

Prakash was allegedly assaulted during a meeting at Kejriwal’s official residence
on February 19.

The alleged assault on the chief secretary had triggered a bitter tussle between
the Delhi government and its bureaucrats.