Cyclone FANI: Ferry Services Of 8 Dists To Shut From Tomorrow


Kolkata: Ferry services of eight districts will shut from Friday till Saturday due to Cyclone FANI. The eight districts are Kolkata, Howrah, Hooghly, North 24 Parganas and South 24 Parganas and Two Midnapore districts.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, from a public meeting in Newtown on Thursday, told that areas will be closely monitored in Midnapore, East-West Jhargram, North and South-24 Parganas, Birbhum, Howrah, Hooghly and Burdwan, especially in coastal areas.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation has said that no flight will depart or arrive at Kolkata airport between 9.30 pm tomorrow till 6 pm on May 4 due to cyclone Fani. The aviation body also said that all flights to and fro Bhubaneswar airport on May 3 stand cancelled.

Bhubaneshwar Airport will be closed alongside Kolkata. All services will be stopped on Friday night from 12.00 pm at Bhubaneswar airport. The airport will be closed for the next 24 hours. It is feared that the deadline may increase further.

South Eastern Railway has said that these trains have been cancelled for two days for now but the cancellation may be extended further depending on the cyclone situation.

Trains that have been cancelled include popular trains like East Coast Express, Coromondal Express, Faluknama Express, Howrah-Chennai Mail, Howrah-Yesvantapur Duranto Express, Howrah-Bhubaneswar Jan Shatabdi Express, Howrah-Puri Shatabdi Express, Puri-Howrah Sri Jagannath Express, Yesvantapur – Howrah Humsafar Express, etc.

Cyclonic storm Fani over Bay of Bengal moved north-northeastwards on Wednesday evening. Alipore Met office on Wednesday said that West Bengal would face damage due to Cyclone Fani.