CPI Marches to Victory in Tripura Polls


Agartala: The ruling CPI (M) won both the Pratapgarh (SC) and Surma (SC) Assembly seats by a huge margin in Tripura where by-elections were held. CPI (M) candidate in Pratapgarh constituency, Ramu Das defeated his nearest BJP candidate, Mousami Das by a margin of 17,326 votes.

In Surma, CPI (M) candidate Anjan Das beat his nearest rival from BJP, Asish Das by a margin of 15,309 votes. Bypoll was necessitated in Pratapgarh due to the death of CPI (M) veteran and former minister Anil Sarkar and in Surma due to the death of sitting MLA Sudhir Das.