Congress Releases Candidates Name For 11 WB Seats


Kolkata: After the talks on an alliance with the Left Front in West Bengal failed, the Congress has decided to go it alone in Lok Sabha elections in the state, putting an end to speculation over an electoral understanding between the two. Congress on Monday releases candidates list .

Congress has finalized the names of candidates in 11 seats in Bengal. The names of 11 people who have been finalized are:

CoochBehar: Piya Roychowdhury
Alipurduar: Mohanlal Basumata
Jalpaiguri: Manikumar Darnal
Darjeeling: Shankar Malakar
Raiganj: Dipa Dashmunsi
Balurghat: Sabek Sarkar
North Maldah: Isha Khan Chowdhury
South Maldah: Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury
Jangipur- Abhijit Mukhopadhyay
Murshidabad – Abu Hena
Baharampur – Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

In addition, Kazi Abdul in Basirhat, Nepal Mahato will be named in Purulia. A few days ago, the Left Front announced its list of candidates for 25 of the state’s 42 Parliamentary seats. The list included the name of Congress leader Dr Rezaul Karim. Karim is the chairman of the state Medical Cell of the Congress. However, the list did not mention Karim as a Left candidate, but as an Independent candidate from the Birbhum seat.