Congress Names Candidates For 25 More Bengal Seats


Kolkata: The Congress on Monday announced the second list of candidates for 25 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal. The party had earlier announced names for 11 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state.

With this, the party has announced candidates for 36 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state. Candidates for six more seats could be named soon. The new list has six women and five Muslim candidates.

The 25 constituencies, included three of the five seats the Congress had left last week as seat adjustment talks with the Left Front were continuing.

Nepal Mahato, a Congress MLA from Purulia district’s Baghmundi constituency, will contest the Purulia Lok Sabha seat. He is pitted against Trinamool’s Mriganko Mahato and All India Forward Bloc’s Birsingh Mahato (AIFB).