Cong MLAs Contesting On TMC Tickets Resign From Assembly


Kolkata: Three Congress MLAs who had switched over to the ruling Trinamool Congress last year, resigned from the West Bengal Assembly Thursday, as they will contest Lok Sabha elections on TMC tickets.

Abu Taher, Apurba Sarkar and Kanailal Agarwal of the Congress did not resign as MLAs after joining the TMC. The TMC has nominated them as it’s candidates from Murshidabad, Baharampur and Raiganj Lok Sabha seats respectively.

The three MLAs submitted their resignation letters to West Bengal Assembly Speaker Biman Banerjee. “As we will be contesting Lok Sabha elections on TMC tickets, we decided to resign as MLAs,” Taher told reporters.

The Trinamool Congress Tuesday released the list of candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs and bringing in 18 new faces. Since 2016 Assembly polls, around 17 of the 44 Congress MLAs had switched sides to the TMC.