Commandos Myanmar Hot Pursuit awarded gallantry awards


New Delhi: The commandos from the 21 Para commandos of the Indian Army who conducted the hot pursuit against the insurgents in Myanmar have been awarded with gallantry awards on the eve of the 69th Independence Day. The commandos were awarded with seven gallantry awards including a Kirti Chakra and a Shaurya Chakra.

Lieutenant Colonel Nectar Sanjebam, who lead the assault against the militants after a military convoy was ambushed by the militants has been awarded with Kirti Chakra, India’s second-Highest peacetime gallentry award. Five commandos of the 21 Para were chose for the Sena Medal.

The elite para commandos of the Indian Army conducted the raid on the militants in Myanmar five days after 18 soldiers were killed in the Chandel district of Manipur.