CM Instucts To Begin New Districts’ Planning


Kolkata: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday gave instructions to begin the structural planning for the formation of 5 new districts.

In December 2015, the Rajya Sabha had passed a bill allowing the creating of 5 new districts in the state. Mamata Banerjee has instructed to begin the planning and give importance for the formation of Kalimpong (from Darjeeling), Asansol (Bardhaman), Jhargram (Paschim Medenipur), Basirhat (North 24 Parganas) and Sundarban (North and South 24 Parganas)

As per Nabanna, in this year Mamata Banerjee has even instructed to begin works for the creation of the districts. As the result, the government services would be available quite easily to the people. At present there are 20 districts and with the inclusion of the new ones, the number would rise to 25.

As per reports, the blocks and assemblies which would be present in each district has been planned too. There would be separate district court in each of the districts. After TMC came to power in 2014, on 25th June Jalpaiguri was broken and Alipurduar was made into a new district.