Civil Polls: Counting Blinks TMC-CPM Sea-saw


Kolkata: Amid tight security and constitutional confusion, the West Bengal Election Commission on Wednesday started the counting for the local body polls in the Siliguri Mahukuma Parishad area. According to the administration, the Gram Panchayat seats are being counted at first. After that 4 Panchayat Samiti and 9 Mahukuma Panchayat Parishad’s counting will take its own course. A cold battle started between TMC and CPM to conquer the Mahakuma Parishad. 426 Gram Panchayats, 72 Panchayat Samiti and 9 Parishad seats’ counting is quite thrilling. The total voters of the sub divisional four blocks are amounted of nearly 4 million 73 thousand 644 people. The vote counting are also started in Howrah, Birbhum, West and East Midnapore, Jalpaiguri and Maldah’s village panchayat by-elections.

  • CPM  has already won 10 seats out of 22 Gram Panchayats. TMC gets 4. Crucial hung seats are 8. Counting goes on.
  • In Murshidabad TMC won the 12 seat out of 26 Gram Panchayats, Congress gets 9 and CPM gets 4.
  • In West Midnapore TMC won the 16 seat out of 19, but in Tamluk CPM wins the battle.
  • In Howrah TMC won 16 seats out of 17 Panchayats. Independent gets 1.
Previous articleConflict disrupting delivery of food to Kunduz: Afghan officials
Next articleRally at College Street: Hampered Traffic