China Announces ‘Standardised’ Names For 6 Places In Arunachal


New Delhi: China has unilaterally renamed six places in Arunachal Pradesh in standard Chinese in what appears to be the first sign of retaliation against the 14th Dalai Lama’s visit to the north eastern state earlier this month.

Calling the remote Indian state as part of the border dispute with India, Beijing says Arunachal Pradesh is part of south Tibet with close Buddhist links with the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) in the Mainland.

Read More: US, Japan Agree China Should Play Larger Role On North Korea

“The official names of the six places using the Roman alphabet are Wo’gyainling, Mila Ri, Qoidêngarbo Ri, Mainquka, Bümo La and Namkapub Ri,” the report added.

Official Chinese maps show the state as part of south Tibet. The names were changed to show to India the “sovereignty” of the region, Chinese state media said.

Previous articleFire At Cracker Shop In Indore, 5 Killed
Next articleBabri Case: SC Revives Conspiracy Charges Against Advani, Joshi & Others