Calcutta HC To Get 5 New Judges


Kolkata: In a major development, the Supreme Court collegium has finalised the names of five judges for the Calcutta High Court.

“For the purpose of assessing merit and suitability of the recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinised the material placed in the file, which includes the views of the Chief Minister as forwarded by West Bengal Governor, etc,” the SC collegium said in its order.

The SC collegium has approved the names of Biswajit Basu, Amrita Sinha, Sutanu Kumar Patra, Abhijit Gangopadhyay and Jay Sengupta as the judges of HC, while the collegium has disapproved the names of Tirthankar Ghosh and Hiranmay Bhattacharya for their elevation to the post of judge.

According to a law ministry official, the notification in this regard would come soon. It may be mentioned that out of the total 73 posts of judges, 39 are lying vacant.

The Calcutta High Court is facing an unprecedented ceasework by lawyers since February 18 on the issue of appointment of judges. The lawyers’ bodies are likely to meet again on April 2 to decide whether they will end the ongoing agitation or continue with it.

At the last meeting on March 19, the three lawyers’ bodies — Calcutta High Court Bar Association, Incorporated Law Society and the Bar Library Club — asked for a specific time frame from the Centre on the issue before withdrawing the strike.

Earlier the Centre had assured a lawyers’ delegation that seven names recommended by the Calcutta HC has already been sent to the Supreme Court Collegium with Intelligence Bureau reports. Five names recommended in December 2017 were with the IB. It also assured that it was processing acting Chief Justice Jyotirmay Bhattacharya’s elevation as the Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court.