Calcutta HC To Get New Judges

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: The Centre has initiated pre-appointment formalities for the appointment of Shampa Sarkar, Ravi Krishan Kapur and Arindam Mukherjee as Calcutta high court judges.

The Calcutta HC has a sanctioned strength of 72 but now has only 30 judges on the bench. Two of the judges preside over the Port Blair circuit bench on a fortnightly basis, effectively reducing the bench strength further.

The three advocates were part of the five names recommended by the Supreme Court collegium last December for appointment as judges.

- Advertisement -

The SC collegium, comprising Chief Justice Dipak Misra and justices J Chelameswar and Ranjan Gogoi, had also recommended Sabyasachi Chaudhury and Sakya Sen’s names for appointment as judges. Officials here said the Centre could agree to these two names as well.

Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi had met the agitating lawyers on February 23 and promised to take up the issue with Union law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad. The Calcutta High Court Bar Association, the Bar Library Club and the Incorporated Law Society have been on a cease-work since February 19 demanding that these vacancies be filled up.