Cabinet Reshuffle: Modi Set To Shuffle Cabinet To Focus On Performance


Update: The President administers the oath of office and secrecy to Dr Satyapal Singh. The MP from Baghpat in western Uttar Pradesh was Mumbai Police Commissioner and is known for his extraordinary work in Maoist-affected areas of Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. As Police Commissioner in Mumbai, Pune and Nagpur, he is credited with breaking the backbone of organised crime syndicates in the 1990s.

* Gajendra Singh Shekhawat takes the oath as MoS. Shekhawat, a first time MP from Jodhpur in Rajasthan, is a techno savvy progressive farmer and is seen as a role model for the rural community. Known for his simple lifestyle, he is one of the most followed political leaders on Quora globally.

- Advertisement -

* Hardeep Singh Puri takes the oath. Singh, who was India’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, had joined the BJP ahead of the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. An officer of the 1974 batch of IFS, he is known for his experience and expertise in foreign policy and national security.

* Raj Kumar Singh takes the oath. Singh, a Lok Sabha member from Ara in Bihar, was union Home Secretary during the UPA rule and had served in various capacities including as Defence Production Secretary and Joint Secretary in the Home Ministry.

* Anant Kumar Hegde takes the oath. Hegde, a Lok Sabha MP from Uttara Kannada in Karnataka, is a seasoned parliamentarian having won five elections. He is a member of the parliamentary committee on External Affairs and Human Resource Development and has a keen interest in rural development. The Assembly Elections are due in Karnataka early next year and in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan in the later part.

*The President administers the oath of office and secrecy to Dr Virendra Kumar. Kumar is a six-time Lok Sabha member from Tikamgarh in Madhya Pradesh and is the chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Labour.

* Ashwini Kumar Choubey takes oath as Minister of State. He is a Lok Sabha member from Buxar, Bihar. He was elected MLA from Bhagalpur for five consecutive terms and has held portfolios of Health, Urban Development and Public Health Engineering for eight years.

* Shiv Pratap Shukla takes oath as Minister of State. Shukla is the Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh is a member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Rural Development and a four-time member of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly. He has served as cabinet minister in the state for eight years and is known for his work in rural development, education and prison reforms.

* Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi takes the oath as Cabinet minister.

* Nirmala Sitharaman takes the oath as Cabinet minister.

* Piyush Goyal takes oath as Cabinet minister.

* President administers the oath of office and secrecy to Dharmendra Pradhan.

* President Ram Nath Kovind arrives at the venue.

* A stretcher has been taken out from Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan. Information awaited on who was taken ill and gotten out of the venue.

* PM Narendra Modi arrives at Rashtrapati Bhavan for reshuffle; the ceremony will begin soon.

* Sushma Swaraj might be new Defence Minister, says a report.

* The ministers are seen congratulating and hugging Piyush Goyal, who is expected to get Railway Ministry. He is currently serving as power minister.

* The Janata Dal (United) will also skip the ceremony. Reports say Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is disappointed that despite joining the NDA around two weeks ago, the PM did not contact the party to discuss Cabinet reshuffle. Reports are also doing the rounds that there will be another expansion or reshuffle soon that will include JD(U).

* The nine new members to be inducted in the Union council of ministers arrive at the Rashtrapati Bhawan ahead of oath ceremony.

* Uma Bharti will reportedly not attend the swearing-in ceremony.

* The PM reportedly told nine ministers who are set to join Cabinet today that they were chosen with a lot of consideration. “Do a good job,” the PM told new inductees, said reports.

New Delhi: The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers of the Narendra Modi government is taking place at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The third in the Modi government, it is the crucial Cabinet reshuffle ahead of Assembly Elections in a few states and 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The selection of nine new names for ministership has reportedly been done by the PM keeping in view the 4Ps — passion, proficiency, professional and political acumen, to deliver on his vision of a new India.