Bypolls To 6 Bengal Assembly Constituencies On May 19


Kolkata: Five West Bengal assembly seats – Islampur, Kandi, Habibpur (ST), Nowda and Bhatpara – will go for bypolls on May 19, according to the Election Commission.

Earlier, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sanjay Basu told reporters that bypolls to the Darjeeling Assembly constituency will also be held on May 19.

The bypolls have been necessitated after the sitting MLAs resigned to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

The notification will be issued on April 22. The last date of filing of nominations is April 29 and the scrutiny will be done on April 30. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is May 2.

The counting will be done along with the counting in the parliamentary election on May 23.