Buses Introduced In Salt Lake Routes To Reduce Auto Menace

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: The State Transport Department launched AC and non-AC buses in eight new
routes on Friday. Among them, several are in the Salt Lake route. The daily office-goers in the Salt Lake route believe that with the introduction of these buses, the auto menace will reduce in the city.

The buses in route Sector V-New Town are heavily crowded during the office hours. In order to reduce the crowd pressure, 38 AC mini buses in six routes and four non-AC buses in two routes were introduced.

The routes for the AC buses are AC 35 (Milk Colony-Sapurji), AC 36 (New Town- Barasat), AC 38 (Chiriya more-Eco Space), AC 30S (Ultadanga Station-Sapurji), AC 2B
(Rathtala-Ballyguange) and AC 30 (Lake Town-Howrah).

- Advertisement -

The routes for non-AC buses are MX 3 (Kolkata station-Airport Gate number 1) and AC
14 D (Salt Lake GD Terminus-Garia). The West Bengal Transport Corporation will be
running these buses in the new routes.

An official inauguration was scheduled on Thursday but could not be held due to unavoidable circumstances. Hence, the programme was cancelled.