Brisk Polling Underway in Bihar

- Advertisement -

Patna: Brisk and peaceful polling is underway for the 4th phase of assembly elections in Bihar on Sunday, nearly 42 percent voting reported till 1300 hrs.

Over 1.20 lakh jawans of security forces have been deployed and security forces staged a flag march in sensitive areas to instill confidence among electorates.

Polling time in 43 constituencies is 7 am to 5 pm, while in four Naxal-affected constituencies, it will conclude at 3 pm and in eight constituencies at 4 pm.

- Advertisement -

Polling for 55 seats in the fourth phase will take place in the seven districts of Muzaffarpur, Siwan, Sheohar, West Champaran, East Champaran, Sitamarhi and Gopalganj.

A total of 1,46,93,294 electors are eligible to cast vote in 13,535 polling stations to select their representatives from among 776 candidates in the fray.

Prominent personalities whose fate would be decided in the fourth phase are senior Nitish Kumar minister Ramai Ram (Bochaha, SC seat), Ranju Geeta (Bajpatti) and Manoj Kushwaha (Kudni).

Considering the results of last Assembly elections in 2010, stakes are high for BJP in the fourth phase of polls.

While BJP had won 26 out of the total 55 seats of this phase in 2010, JD(U) had emerged victorious in 24, RJD 2 and Independents 3.