BRICS Declaration Names Pak-Based Terror Groups For The First Time


New Delhi: The BRICS grouping of nations that includes India and China has, for the first time, named Pakistan-based groups like Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jaish-e-Mohammed and the Haqqani network in a strongly-worded declaration condemning terror.

“We strongly condemn terrorist attacks resulting in death to innocent Afghan nationals. We, in this regard, express concern on the security situation in the region and violence caused by the Taliban, ISIL/DAISH, Al Qaida and its affiliates including Eastern Turkistan Islamic Movement, Islamic Movement of Uzbekistan, the Haqqani network, Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jaish-e-Mohammed, TTP and Hizb ut-Tahrir,” said the declaration issued by BRICS or Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa at the summit in Xiamen.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is attending the summit and will hold bilateral talks with Chinese President Xi Jinping tomorrow. Pakistan has not been named in the declaration adopted by BRICS. While it is a close ally of China, the statement makes a strong reference to the need for states to act against terror.  “We deplore all terrorist attacks worldwide, including attacks in BRICS countries. Recalling the primary leading role and responsibility of states in preventing and countering terrorism, we stress the necessity to develop international cooperation,” said the statement.

China has repeatedly blocked efforts by India at the United Nations to designate the Jaish-e-Mohammed Chief Masood Azhar a terrorist. The US, UK, France and other countries are backing India.