BREAKING NEWS: Manik Sarkar Now ‘Caretaker’ CM Of Tripura


Agaratala: Four-time Tripura chief minister Manik Sarkar reaches governor’s house in Agartala to submit his resignation. Sarkar, regarded as the ”poorest chief minister” of the country and the man who helmed the Leftist bastion of Tripura for 20 years, failed to steer the Left Front (LF) to election victory on Saturday.

The LF’s drubbing by a resurgent BJP, which captured power in the north-eastern state for the first time, nixed the Left Front’s efforts to form the government for a record sixth consecutive time in the state. Sarkar, a CPI(M) politburo member, won from his Dhanpur seat, defeating his nearest rival, Pratima Bhowmick of the BJP. His party, however, bagged only 16 of the 59 seats, where polling was held on February 18. The BJP, which had no member in the Tripura Assembly, won 35 seats this time.