CM Yogi Addressing Media Congratulates All 9 Winning Candidates


Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Friday held a late night press conference after Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) fabulous show in the Rajya Sabha elections.

Speaking at the press conference, UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said 9 candidates of the party have won in the Rajya Sabha elections. I congratulate all the candidates who have won in the election. This is a major victory, the UP CM added. Addressing the media, Yogi Adityanath hit out at the Samajwadi Party (SP) saying that the people have now witnessed their opportunistic face.

The Bharatiya Janata Party supported candidates won 9 out of 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh while one seat has been claimed by Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate.

Meanwhile, Mayawati-led BSP candidate has lost the election. The counting of votes for the Rajya Sabha elections began on Friday evening at 5PM. While the counting of votes in other states started at 5PM, the counting for Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha elections was initially halted as SP and BSP had demanded from Election Commission to declare votes of BJP’s Nitin Agrawal and BSP’s Anil Singh invalid while alleging that they did not show their ballot paper to the polling agent.