Bongaon TMC MLA & 12 Councillors Join BJP


New Delhi: In yet another wave of TMC migration to BJP, a legislator from Mamata Banerjee camp jumped ship to join the saffron party on Tuesday. TMC MLA from Bongaon Biswajit Das joined BJP in New Delhi in the presence of party’s West Bengal leaders Kailash Vijayvargiya and Mukul Roy.

Along with Biswajit Das, 12 TMC councillors and Congress spokesperson Prasanjeet Ghosh also joined the BJP.

This comes a day after another TMC MLA – Noapara legislator Sunil Singh, along with the 15 TMC councillors and another Congress councillor, had joined the BJP.

Leaders, including MLAs and MPs, from various parties in West Bengal, have been joining the saffron party for the past several months.

“The BJP has emerged as a strong player in West Bengal politics and is the first preference for those who want peace and development in the state,” Kailash Vijayvargiya had said earlier.

The BJP leader alleged that under the leadership of West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, democracy had vanished from the state.