BJP’s Biren Singh Wins Floor Test In Manipur Assembly

- Advertisement -

Imphal: Manipur Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh has won the crucial floor test in the state Assembly on Monday.

Governor Najma Heptullah had invited the BJP, which won 21 seats in the 60-seat Manipur Assembly, to form the government after none of the parties got clear majority.
Singh, a former national level football player, took oath as the CM of Manipur on March 16 along with eight other ministers.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Big Test For N Biren Singh, BJP’s First CM In Manipur

“In the house of 60 in Manipur, BJP has the support of 33 MLAs now. Congress is now only 27. No confusion. It’s a clear majority,” Himanta Biswa Sarma, the key architect of BJP’s impressive show in Manipur.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which has claimed support of 33 MLAs, is leaving no stone unturned to win the floor test and has lodged all its legislators in a Guwahati hotel along with an Independent and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since last week.

Also Read: N Biren Singh Sworn In As Manipur CM

Only two BJP MLAs including the chief minister were inducted in the BJP-led ministry, while four MLAs of NPP, one each of NPF, LJP and the Congress legislator who joined the saffron party were included in the ministry.

The BJP won 21 seats and formed the state government with support of four each MLAs of NPP and NPF, one MLA of LJP and one each lawmaker of Congress and Trinamool Congress who joined the saffron party.