BJP Wins Absolute Majority Of 272 Seats: EC


New Delhi: The BJP has won an absolute majority of 272 seats and is leading in another 31 constituencies, according to the Election Commission.

Of the results declared for 458 seats past midnight, the BJP was on course to cross the 300-seat mark in the 543-member Lok Sabha. The BJP is all set to surpass its 2014 performance when it won 282 seats.

The Congress in all likelihood will fall short of the 54-mark needed for the leader of opposition status in the Lok Sabha, winning in 45 seats and leading in 7.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who has won a huge mandate for a second term in power, dropped the prefix “Chowkidar” from his Twitter profile today, saying it would remain an “integral part” of him.

“Now, the time has come to take the Chowkidar Spirit to the next level. Keep this spirit alive at every moment and continue working for India’s progress. The word ‘Chowkidar’ goes from my Twitter name but it remains an integral part of me. Urging you all to do the same too!” tweeted PM Modi.

“The people of India became Chowkidars and rendered great service to the nation. Chowkidar has become a powerful symbol to safeguard India from the evils of casteism, communalism, corruption and cronyism,” he added.