BJP Parliamentary Meeting Underway, First After Assembly Polls


New Delhi: After winning people’s mandate in the recently-concluded Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand Assembly elections and establishing majority in Manipur and Goa assemblies, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is having its first Parliamentary meeting on Thursday morning.

The meeting is reportedly being held to decide the probable names for the chief ministerial candidate of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, where the saffron party won with a comfortable majority.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah are expected to be felicitated in the meeting.

Despite his rhetoric silence on the matter, Home Minister Rajnath Singh remains the foremost contender for the post of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister.

Meanwhile, BJP leader Nongthombam Biren Singh yesterday took charge as the Chief Minister of Manipur. Governor Najma Heptullah administered the oath of office to Singh.

The BJP-led government in Goa, headed by Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, will face the crucial floor test today, as a special Assembly session has been convened for the purpose.
Parrikar, who stepped down as Defence Minister, was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of the coastal state for the fourth time on Tuesday evening, along with nine ministers.

Shah and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari attended Parrikar’s swearing-in ceremony.