BJP Invites Manik Sarkar For Biplab Deb’s Swearing-In


Agartala: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday invited outgoing CM Manik Sarkar for the swearing-in-ceremony of Chief Minister-elect Biplab Deb. BJP leader Ram Madhav and Dev personally met and invited him for Friday’s ceremony.

Meanwhile, Left Front convener Bijan Dhar has said that Sarkar and former ministers of his Cabinet would attend the swearing-in ceremony of the new BJP-IPFT combine government.
However, leaders of Opposition Left parties would not join the programme in protest against post-poll ‘violence’ in the state, he added.

“The outgoing CM and his ministers would attend the swearing-in ceremony. Left parties have also been invited to join it. But we will not go there to protest against the post-poll violence,” Dhar, also CPI(M) state secretary, told a press conference, PTI reported.

BJP state president Deb will be sworn-in as the CM at the Assam Rifles ground in Agartala. Forty-eight-year-old Deb staked claim to Governor Tathagata Roy on March 6 to form the government in the state. The governor then invited him to do so.

The BJP-Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) combine swept to power in the state on March 3, 2018, ending 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front. The BJP had bagged 35 seats and the IPFT eight in the 60-member House.

Meanwhile, Union minister Nitin Gadkari had stated on March 6 that Jishnu Debbarma will be the deputy CM. Debbarma is yet to be elected as an MLA as polling in his Charilam (Scheduled Tribe) constituency was postponed due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate. The election would now be held on March 12.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and three CMs of BJP-ruled states in the Northeastern region are expected to be present at the swearing-in ceremony.