BJP declares list of 62 candidates for Delhi Polls, Bedi CM nominee


New Delhi: Setting aside all the speculations over Bharatiya Janata Party’s Chief Ministerial candidate, the party Chief Amit Shah has nominated former IPS officer Kiran Bedi for the top constitutional post of Delhi.

Bedi who had expressed her desire to contest against Kejriwal from the New Delhi constituency will be contesting from Krishna Nagar seat in East Delhi which is considered as a BJP strong hold.

A list of 62 candidates have been declared by the party after a neeting of BJP’s Central Election Committee which was chaired by BJP President Amit Shah and was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The others present in the meeting were Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj.

Former Union Minister Krishna Tirath who joined BJP yesterday will be contesting from Patel Nagar seat. Senior BJP leader and a former Minister minister of Delhi Jagdish Mukhi will be the contesting from Janakpuri seat while Vijendra Gupta has been fielded from Rohini Seat.

The saffron camp has decided to field in a young face against AAP heavyweight Arvind Kejriwal by nominating former DUSU President Nupur Sharma in the New Delhi seat.

BJP’s Delhi Chief Satish Upadhay who will be leading the Delhi Polls, has not been fielded as an candidate in the elections. BJP has also left some seats for its ally Shiromani Akali Dal which had contested in the last elections.

Expelled AAP MLA Vinod Kumar Binny will take on AAP leader Manish Sisodia in Patpargunj. Former Speaker of Delhi Legislative Assembly MS Dhir, who had quit AAP will be contesting from Jungpura seat to retain it.

Dismissing any rift within the party over the nomination of Bedi for the CM post, Amit Shah said that she was an unanimous choice. BJP has fielded 13 SC candidates in the upcoming elections. Shah said that he hoped that BJP will win the elections under the able leadership of Kiran Bedi.