BJP Clean Sweeps Bengaluru Civic Polls

- Advertisement -

Bengaluru: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has registered a clear victory in the Bengaluru civic corporation elections on Tuesday with 100 out of 197 seats in its kitty. In a major setback, the ruling Congress government under chief minister Siddaramaiah, could manage to win only 75 seats trailing BJP. As per the final figures, BJP has won 100, Congress – 75, Janata Dal (Secular)- 14 and others won 8 seats.

 Polling was held in 197 of the 198 wards on Saturday in which 49.3 percent of voting was registered, as over 36-lakh of the 74-lakh electorate exercised franchise in the day-long election, marred by some irregularities and rains. Though the expanded Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) has 198 wards, polling was not held in one ward, as BJP candidate Bharati Ramachandra, 45, was declared elected from the Hongasandra (ward #189) after the nomination of Congress candidate K. Maheshwari was rejected on August 13 for submitting a fake caste certificate.