BJP Appoints Anurag Thakur As Chief Whip In LS


New Delhi: The Saffron Brigade on Tuesday appointed Anurag Thakur, its MP from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh, as the party’s chief whip in the Lok Sabha, party sources said.

Thakur replaces Rakesh Singh, who was recently made Madhya Pradesh BJP president and is busy with election strategy in the poll-bound state. Thakur, who is an MP from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh, was previously the president of BJP Youth Wing.

Thakur, a key voice of the party in the Lower House, was president of the BJP’s youth wing.