Biplab Kumar Deb Takes Oath As Tripura Chief Minister


Agartala: Biplab Kumar Deb, the 48-year-old Tripura BJP president, took oath as the Chief Minister of the northeastern state on Friday at a grand ceremony which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah and party leaders.

Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn in as the tenth chief minister of Tripura on Friday. The oath taking ceremony of the newly elected BJP govt took place at the Assam Rifles ground in Agartala.

The event was a historic one in the political landscape of the North East state as for the first time BJP is forming the government in the Left bastion. PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states in the northeastern region attended the ceremony.

In order to protest “large-scale violence” in Tripura after the Assembly elections, the Left Front leaders will boycott the swearing-in of the BJP-led government. However, outgoing chief minister Manik Sarkar and elected leaders of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) are expected to attend the event.

The BJP-Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance romped home to power in the state last week, bringing an end to the 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front. The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, dethroning the CPI(M) which won only in 17 Assembly constituencies.