Bengaluru to be divided into five corporations


Bengaluru: The three-member Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) Restructuring Committee constituted by the Karnataka government has recommended a three-tier structure and five corporations. It is published in Businessline newspaper. As per newspaper report, the committee, headed by former Chief Secretary B S Patil, today submitted its final report to the Chief Minister on Monday.

The recommendations are forward committees on tier – i, five corporations on tier – ii and the Greater Bengaluru Authority on tier – iii. The five corporations are Central, North, South, East and West. The committee has also recommended that Bengaluru city have a directly elected Mayor, whose term will be for five years.

The Greater Bengaluru Authority at the top will operate as the local planning authority, be responsible for infrastructure development, integration of parastatal agencies, and economic development.