Bengal Skipper Manoj Tiwary Named Best Cricketer


Kolkata: Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary had been named the best cricket of the year by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for the 2016-17 seasons. Pacer Ashok Dinda was named the best bowler while opener Abhimanyu Easwaran will be the gentleman cricketer of the year. Another youngster opener Abhishek Raman, who made his Ranji debut last season, was named the best Under-23 cricketer.

All the players will be awarded at a gala CAB’s annual awards function on July 27 evening at the Eden Gardens. As part of pre-season preparation, a CAB XI team will take part in the KSCA tournament in Bengaluru which will begin on July 22.

However, the CAB has decided to rest senior pros like Tiwary and Dinda and go in with a young side for the tournament. Left-handed batsman Sudip Chatterjee will lead the side with coach Sairaj Bahutule in charge.

Meanwhile eight players have been selected to attend a special camp in Bengaluru under Vision 2020 consultants VVS Laxman, M Muralitharan, TS Sekhar, Sourasish Lahiri and Suven Sarkar. Sayen Sekhar Mondol, Mukesh Kumar, Anurag Tiwary, Aritra Chatterjee, Pritam Chakraborty, Sayan Ghosh, Ritwick Roy Cgowdhury and Sumanta Gupta will attend the camp there from Sunday.

CAB XI: Sudip Chatterjee (capt), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Abhishek Raman, Purab Joshi, Koushik Ghosh, Agniv Pan, Arittick Chatterjee, Debapriya Ghosh, Saurabh Singh, Amir Goni, Pradipta Pramanik, Amit Kuila, B Amit, Kanishek Seth, Abhishek Mitra.