Bengal Bypolls Held In 3 Constituencies Today

  • Overall voting till 1pm at Monteswar is 52.3%
  • Cooch Behar‘s BJP candidate Hemchandra Burma is on a protest outside Returning officer’s office protesting against the ruling party.bjp
  • Congress agents of booths 184, 185, 186 have been allegedly beaten and thrown out of their booths.
  • The TMC cadres have been accused of beating up BJP polling agents and throwing them out of the booths in Cooch Behar. Similarly, TMC workers have been accused of throwing out CPM agent from his booth at Monteswar.
  • Overall vote count for Monteswar till 11 AM is 42.1%
  • The police have been accused of conducting lathi charge at Sutahata in Tamluk. Transport Minister Suvendu Adhikari is on the spot speculating the situation.
  • Threats on at Cooch Behar. It has been alleged that the CPM agent’s house has been attacked. Outsiders are even reportedly causing chaos at Monteswar.
  • CPM candidate Nripendranatha Roy attacked in Cooch Behar.
  • Overall Vote Count for Tamluk till 11 AM is 25%
  • Overall Vote Count for Monteswar till 10 AM is 32.5%
  • 2 EVMs were malfunctioning at Tamluk. After an hour, votings has begun again here.
  • Overall Votings for Cooch Behar Till 9 AM is 15.8%
  • TMC workers in Cooch Behar has been accused of jamming several booths.
  • Vote process stalled for the moment at Bardhaman’s Monteswar booth numbers 29, 46 and 197 as EVM machines are yet to reach these booths.
  • TMC workers have been accused of not allowing Cooch Behar’s Toofanganj’s BJP candidate from entering the booth.
  • Reportedly several CPM agents stopped from sitting in their booths.
  • Several polling agents of the CPM party are allegedly stopped from entering the booths.
  • Transport Minister Suvendu Adhikari shuvanducasts his vote at his own constituency.
  • Apart from West Bengal, by-elections are underway in 6 other states namely Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Puducherry.

Lok Sabha seats

ASSAM: Lakhimpur


WEST BENGAL: Cooch Behar (ST) and Tamluk.

Assembly seats

ASSAM: Baithalango(ST)



WEST BENGAL: Monteswar

TAMIL NADU: Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Tiruparakundram

TRIPURA: Barjala and Khowai

PUDUCHERRY: Nellithope

আজ রাজ্যে তিন কেন্দ্রে উপনির্বাচন (Live)

Kolkata: Polling began amidst enthusiasm for by-elections to two Lok Sabha and one assembly seats in West Bengal at 7 a.m. on Saturday.

An electorate of nearly 3,524,977, including 1,689,735 females and 38 from the third gender are eligible to choose their representatives from among 23 candidates vying for honours in Cooch Behar (Reserved-Scheduled Castes) and Tamluk parliamentary constituencies and Monteshwar assembly seat.

Cooch Behar has the maximum number of contestants (10), followed by Tamluk (7) and Monteshwar (6), whose fate would be decided in over 500 Electronic Voting machines spread across 4,121 polling stations.

The state’s principal political parties — the ruling Trinamool Congress, the Congress, the Left Front and the BJP — are in fray for all three seats.

The elections are being held under the shadow of the central government’s demonetisation move to unearth black money and counterfeit coins, that has caused turmoil across the nation.

Since the November 8 announcement banning Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 currency notes by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, people have been forced to stand in long queues at banks and ATMs for the elusive cash. Trade and business have also been hit.

The Cooch Behar parliamentary constituency fell vacant after the death of Trinamool’s Renuka Sinha, while Tamluk has gone to the hustings as the incumbent MP Suvendu Adhikari became a minister in Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Cabinet.

Trinamool lawmaker Sajal Panja’s death has caused the Monteshwar assembly by-poll.

The vote count is on Tuesday.