Bengal BJP To Hold Protest Against TMC On Tuesday


Kolkata: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) West Bengal unit will on Tuesday (tomorrow) hold a protest in Kolkata’s Hazra More against Trinamool Congress’ infamous tradition of demanding ‘cut money’ from the public to provide benefits from government schemes.

“West Bengal BJP will protest in Hazra More, Kolkata from 2 pm tomorrow, over the TMC’s cut money issue,” BJP leader Jay Prakash Majumdar said.

Cut money’ is the amount that is illegally charged by some party workers from people to deliver services to them.

The matter came to light after several people staged a protest outside the residences of TMC leaders seeking the return of the cut money taken by them. Recently, several instances were reported from many villages where villagers gheraoed Trinamool Congress leaders at the panchayat level and demanded the amount they had paid in cut money to be returned.

arlier this month, West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee warned the party leaders against seeking cut money and asked them to return the amount to the public.

Banerjee, who recently held a meeting over the issue, had said, “I do not want to keep thieves in my party. If I take action they will join some other party. Some leaders are claiming 25 per cent commission for providing housing grants to the poor. This should stop immediately. Return the money if any of you have taken it.”

Earlier, Union minister and BJP MP from West Bengal Babul Supriyo shared a song on his Twitter handle over the issue.

Sung by popular Bengali singer Nachiketa, the song warns those who had taken the cut money to be ready to face people’s ire. The song, however, makes no direct reference to any political leader or party though it does mention ‘dada’ and ‘didimoni’.

The TMC reportedly believes that the issue of cut money might have cost the party seats in the Lok Sabha elections in which it won only 24 seats while the BJP managed to make inroads in the state by winning 18 seats, a remarkable rise from just two seats in the last general elections.