BCCI Doubles Annual Retainership Contracts Of Cricketers


New Delhi: India’s cricketers will be richer now after the BCCI decided to double the retainer fee for its contracted cricketers. The board also enhanced the match fee for its men cricketers across all three formats.

The annual retainer amounts were enhanced for all the categories and Grade A players will be paid Rs 2 crores per annum, Grade B will be paid Rs 1 Crore per annum and Grade C will be paid Rs 50 lakhs per annum, which is double the amounts paid in the earlier years. The Match Fee enhancement for men cricketers will be effective from Oct 1st 2016 onwards and Rs 15 lakhs per Test, Rs 6 lakhs per ODI and Rs 3 lakhs for T20 International will be paid.

There were no major surprises in Grade A and B. Ravindra Jadeja. Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay were named in Grade A while Harbhajan Singh has been left out.)

Jadeja has been in sensational form this home season and is currently number one in the ICC’s rankings for bowlers. The likes of Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kedar Jadhav were rewarded with Grade C contracts for their performances at the international level.

Parthiv Patel, who made a comeback into the Test team after eight years, was also placed in Grade C.

Grade A

Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay.

Grade B

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuvraj Singh.

Grade C

Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Amit Mishra, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Ashish Nehra, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Parthiv Patel, Jayant Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant