BCCI Announces World T20 Squad

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: Manish Pandey and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were left out of the Asia Cup and World T20 squads while Mohammed Shami made a comeback as the BCCI announced the squads selected by the selection panel headed by Sandeep Patil on Friday in Delhi. Other than that, there were no major surprises as Dhoni had hinted after the Australia T20 series.

Mohammad Shami missed the Australia tour due to a hamstring injury but he makes a cut while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has had a tough time in the limited overs international, was left out.

Yuvraj’s last over heroics in the third T20 against Australia have ensured his place in the team. Also, the 15 wickets he took during the 2011 World Cup with his slow-left arm spin will also be taken into account.

- Advertisement -

Delhi all-rounder Pawan Negi, who was a surprise inclusion for the Sri Lanka series too made it to the squad. Baroda all-rounder Hardik Pandya – who didn’t get a chance to bat in the Australia series and impressed in bits with the ball, retained his place in the squad.

Dhoni had said after the end of the Australia T20 series, the core of team is more or less set, there could only be minor changes in the squad of 15. And the selectors didn’t go against the captain’s wishes.

India start off their Asia Cup campaign, against Bangladesh in Fatullah on 26 February and World T20 against New Zealand in Nagpur on 15 March.

Asia Cup and World T20 squad: MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj singh , Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbahjan Singh , Pawan Negi, Mohammed Shami.