BCCI Announces ODI Team Against Kiwis, Rested Ashwin & Jadeja


Mumbai: The Indian one-day squad for the first three matches against New Zealand was announced on Thursday as the newly-appointed selection committee carried out its first task after getting the job last month.

It was a straight forward exercise for the MSK Prasad-led panel with most players selecting themselves. The five-member panel have recalled Suresh Raina in the 15-member squad which will be headed by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Manish Pandey, Jayant Yadav and Kedar Jhadav have retained their places in the side.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami have been rested.
India last fielded a full-fledged squad in Australia where they lost five-match series 1-4. In June, Dhoni led a second string side to Zimbabwe.

India Squad: MS Dhoni (Captain), Virat Kohli Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Suresh Raina, Jasprit Bumrah, Kedar Jhadav, Mandeep Singh, Amit Mishra, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya.