Bajirao Mastani Sweeps IIFA Awards, Deepika Bags Best Actress


Madrid: The International Indian Film Academy awards came to an end last night, at Madrid, Spain with some power-packed performances by Priyanka Chopra, Tiger shroff and Sonakshi Sinha.

Apart from Bollywood stars, the awards night also witnessed performances by bands Nucleya and Breed. According to News18, the four-day event, apart from awarding the best of 2015, was also an initiative to celebrate Indo-Spanish connection through music and culture.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s historical romance Bajirao Mastani dominated the winners list at the 17th IIFA awards. While Ranveer Singh bagged the IIFA for Bajirao Mastani, Deepika Padukone took home the IIFA for Best Actress for her role in Piku.

Bajirao Mastani, which revolved around Peshwa Bajirao falling in love with Mastani, a warrior princess in distress, swept 13 awards. Apart from Ranveer Singh, Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Priyanka Chopra won the top honours for Best Director and Best Actor in Supporting Role respectively.

The film also won several awards for excellence in cinematography, costume designing, background score, choreography, special effects, action sequences, sound and production design.

Priyanka Chopra, apart from being honoured for her role as Kashibai, also won the Woman of the Year, special award. Shoojit Sarcar’s quirky comedy-drama Piku, which showcased the relationshop between an ageing father and his young daughter, was also awarded for Best Story and Best Dialogue (Juhi Chaturvedi) apart from the best actress trophy.

The Dum Laga Ke Haisha song, Moh Moh Ke Dhaage stood out in more than just one category. While Varun Grover won the Best Lyrics Awards for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage, Monali Thakur and Papon were honored as lead singers.

Hero stars Sooraj Pancholi and Athiya Shetty took home the Best Debut Couple award. Newcomers Vicky Kaushal and Bhumi Pednekar won the Best Debut Actor awards for Masaan and Dum Laga Ke Haisha respectively.

Bajrangi Bhaijaan, the blockbuster which is one of the highest grossing Indian films, won Best Film and Screenplay (Kabir Khan, Parveez Shaikh and V Vijayendra Prasad).

Anil Kapoor won the Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his widely appreciated role as Kamal in Dil Dhadakne Do.

Darshan Kumar won the Best Actor in a Negative Role for NH10, produced by Anushka Sharma.

Here’s how Bollywood took over Twitter on this occasion.