Awards named after Indira-Rajiv to be altered by NDA


New Delhi: ‘Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar’ and ‘Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar’ have now become ‘Pajbhasha Kirti Puraskar’ and Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar’.

The awards are given by the Ministry of Home Affairs each year on Hindi Diwas for the radical use of the language in government.

The order to this effect was issued by the Home Ministry on March 25 this year.

The Congress accused the BJP-led government of “political vindictiveness”. The government has denied any political angle to the development saying that “the move to drop names was not a political one but an administrative move”.

Previous articleMeet the new ‘Indominus Rex’ from Jurrasic world
Next articleNavy intercepts Pak boat off Gujarat coast