Assembly Elections Dates Announced In Tripura, Meghalaya & Nagaland


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India announced dates for elections to the Assemblies of Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland today. The three states — comprising 60-member Houses each — are among eight states that go to polls this year.

The tenure of the Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland Assemblies expire on March 6, March 13 and March 14, 2018, respectively. State elections to Karnataka, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan are also due this year.

With the Election Commission announcing dates to these three states today, the model code of conduct comes into play and election campaigning by political parties will soon pick up pace. The press conference is expected to begin at noon. We will get you the latest updates.
In 2018, assembly elections will also be held in five more states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Here are the updates of Election Commission press conference:

# Counting of votes will take place on March 3: Election Commission
# Assembly elections in Tripura on Feb 18, Meghalaya and Nagaland polls on Feb 27: EC
# CCTV camera will be installed in sensitive booths.
# Model code of conduct comes into effect from today: CEC AK Joti in Delhi on Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura legislative assembly elections
Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura all have 60 seats each. EVM and VVPAT will be used in all three states, first level checks have been completed : CEC AK Joti in Delhi