Arjun’s Son Pawan Singh Wins Bhatpara Bypoll Against Madan Mitra


Kolkata: Maintaining huge gap, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Pawan Kumar Singh defeated Trinamool candidate Madan Mitra by 11,421 votes in Bhatpara Bypoll on Thursday.

The saffron party is currently ahead in four of the eight Assembly seats, where bypolls were held following the death of a legislator, and resignations by seven sitting MLAs who gave up their seats to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

Bengal is looking forward to a saffron storm, with the BJP racing towards an impressive score in the byelections to eight Assembly constituencies, in consonance with its surge in the parliamentary polls in the state, according to the initial EC trends.