After Venkataraghavan, Ravi named in ICC’s elite umpires panel


Dubai: India’s Sundaram Ravi has made it to the Elite panel of ICC Umpires for 2015-2016 effective from July 1. The announcement from ICC came on Thursday as Ravi became the second Indian umpire to be named in the panel after former captain Srinivas Venkataraghavan.

ICC made the announcement on Thursday following the annual review and selection process. Ravi and Chris Gaffaney have been promoted from the International Panel of ICC Umpires to the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires where they have replaced Billy Bowden and the retiring Steve Davis, ICC said in a statement.

The Elite Panel of ICC Umpires for 2015-2016 will be: Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Sundaram Ravi, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker and Bruce Oxenford.

The 49-year-old Ravi said: “I feel honoured and privileged to be selected for the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and thank the BCCI for its support and the ICC for providing this opportunity.

The Elite Panel of ICC Umpires was selected by the ICC Umpires Selection Panel consisting of Chairman, Geoff Allardice, ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, ICC Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle, ex-England player and coach and umpire, David Lloyd, and Srinivas Venkataraghavan, the former India captain and international umpire.

Previous articleDelhi Metro gets first driver less train
Next articlePak capable of replying Indian aggression: Sharif