Adhir’s Closest Gautam Das Joins TMC


Balurghat: Acting Congress MLA of Gangarampur Assembly constituency, Gautam Das, joined Trinamool Congress on Monday. District Trinamool Congress president Biplab Mitra handed over the Trinamool flag to Das at the party office.

Gautam Das had defeated Trinamool candidate Satyendra Nath Roy by 10,733 votes in the 2016 Assembly poll. He resides in Rampara Chenchra area under Banshihari block. Political observers feel this joining of a heavyweight Congress leader with Trinamool will definitely warrant significant advantage to the ruling party.

Some other workers from different political parties including BJP, Congress and Left Front are also likely to join Trinamool soon. Visibly overwhelmed after joining the new party, Das said: “I am fortunate enough to join Trinamool. I will do my task sincerely for the party’s betterment from today onwards.”

District Trinamool Congress president Biplab Mitra said: “No doubt this joining will make us stronger before the upcoming poll.”